DelRae – Bois de Paradis

Perfume: Bois de Paradise
House: DelRae
Perfumer: Michel Roudnitska
Source: Swap – Perfumequeen
Size: 1 mL

Luckyscent Notes:Citrus, French rose, blackberry, fig, spices, woods, and amber

Date: 7/29/08 Weather: 75 degrees, drizzly, humid

Comments: Starts with an indeterminate floral and tea note. Slightly woody. As I took my morning walk, I noticed the most amazing lucious rosy, fruity, woody thing. Absolutely gorgeous on the sillage. Sniffed on the wrist very woody, still tea-like, cedar and maybe a lick of jasmine. Much more attractive when you just let it waft around you. Within 2 hours – no sillage and a faint cedar scent with some vanilla. I may have sweat this all off. Too bad. Will need to try this again in cooler weather.

Date: 3/17/09 Weather: 43 degrees, cloudy
Comments: When I first put it on, I thought – “Gee, why don’t I wear this more often.” A beautiful, balsamic topnote laced with a hint of bergamot and spices. Then the fruit appeared. “Oh yeah – now I remember.” There is a note in the heart that goes sour on my skin. 90 minutes after application, the sour note is beginning to wear off. Getting figs. Some similarities to Philosykos at this phase with its greenery and woodiness. Spices begin to strengthen after 2 hours. 5 hours into the wearing – a faint spice and woods scent with a lick of fig. Very very close wearing at this stage.

Date: 7/7/09 Weather: 78 degrees, sunny

Comments: Woods, balsam, hint of fruit. Also pick up quite a bit of spices (cloves and cinnamon) 20 minutes in – very distinctive fig note – almost coconutty. 1 hour – woody fig with a hint of spices. 5 hours – the same spice and wood scent with a lick of fig. Those top notes struck me as being strange this wearing. Wasn’t sure whether I liked them or not.

Bois de Jasmin
Sweet Diva
Perfume Smellin Things
Basenotes
Perfume of Life Thread
Perfume of Life Thread 2
Perfume Posse
Pere de Pierre
NY Times
Ombligo
A Minx by Any Other Name
The Wit of the Staircase

~ by Wendy Wickham on July 29, 2008.

Leave a comment