Tom Ford – Black Orchid

Perfume: Black Orchid
House: Tom Ford
Source: Swap – TWolf
Size: 1.5 mL spray

Sephora Notes: Bergamot, Citrus, Mandarin, Black Gardenia, Jasmine, Ylang-Ylang, Lotus Wood, Orchid, Spicy Floral Accord, Orchid (Tom Ford Black Accord), Patchouli, Sandalwood, Incense, Vanilla

Date: 5/19/08 Weather: 55 degrees, clear

Comments: Starts shockingly minty, then morphs to a cucumber/melon scent (not unlike Bath and Body Works cucumber/melon shower gel). Within 15 minutes, picks up a patchouli note which occasionally registers “litter box” in the sillage. This is not entirely unpleasant. 45 minutes in – a hint of chocolate, wood, patchouli and the minty note returns with a spicy floral underlay. This is a really complex scent. “Fresher” than I would have expected, if that makes any sense. 60 minutes later, settles into a spicy woody floral. 90 minutes: wood on the arm, vanilla on the chest. Slowly becomes more vanillic on the dry-down. Very faint after 5 hours.

Date: 6/28/08 Weather: 90 degrees, humid

Comments: Brief minty blast, then very melony. After 30 minutes, a hint of patchouli and a spicy floral note. In an hour, a very pretty incensed woody floral with a lashing of vanilla. Love the dry-down on this. Becomes more incense and vanilla as it progresses. 6 hours later, still very faint incense.

Perfume Smellin Things
Bois de Jasmin
Aromascope
Scented Salamander
Victoria’s Own
Now Smell This
Perfume Posse
A Minx by Any Other Name
Associated Content
Nadine Haobsh
Basenotes
Perfume Critic
The Daily Obsession
DeLush
The Cooler Box

~ by Wendy Wickham on May 19, 2008.

4 Responses to “Tom Ford – Black Orchid”

  1. I too, find it (Black Orchid) very complex. I’m wearing it right now, and I can’t figure out why I’m so attracted to the scent. This is not the type of fragrance that I would normally wear. It is a bit sharp when first applied but it settles on different notes very nicely as my moods fluctuate. As the color black is very mysterious and vague, so is this fragrance. But I like it!

  2. I’m probably going to wear this scent again soon to see if my opinion changes and to compare it to the new sample of the lighter Black Orchid. I have a feeling this is turning into one of those benchmark “must smells” that an educated perfumista must try.

  3. I think there is more than a hint of grapefruit in this own. Some people report a really bitter smell from this but that doesn’t happen with me

  4. Cilian – Haven’t picked up grapefruit from this one yet. But I find this is a scent that is quite different each time I wear it. I’m due for another wearing…..

Leave a comment