Robert Piguet – Fracas

Perfume: Fracas
House: Robert Piguet
Perfumer: Germain Cellier
Source: Beauty Encounter
Size: 1mL EdT

OsMoz Notes:
Top: Bergamot, Orange Blossom, Green Notes
Heart: Tuberose, Jasmine, Lily of the Valley, Iris, Carnation
Base: Sandalwood, Vetiver, Cedar, Musk, Moss

Date: 4/8/08 Weather: 46 degrees, cloudy

Comments: Starts sweetly tropical. Quickly turns to a dense, indolic tuberose that will kill a man within 20 paces. Thankfully, I wore this sparingly. I can’t imagine spraying this stuff. Calms down within 30 minutes. Still very tuberose, but not as suffocating. More jasmine and carnation in the mix. Instead of a tuberose bouquet – more variety. Within an hour – becomes creamier, sweeter. An hour and a half in – a honeyed note appears. The indolic tuberose has burned off. Violets, orange blossom, a clean jasmine. The drydown is a beautiful woody, vanillic, mossy thing. And that drydown lasts forever. One of those scents to wait an hour before leaving the house.

Subsequent comments – I’m finding that in warmer weather, with my nose bungied up by allergies, that I am craving this thing. There is something perfectly tropical about it that I am really digging. And maybe being slightly stuffy makes the scent not so overwhelming to wear. May wind up FBW once I’m done with my sample.

Purchased full bottle – 6/26/08

Date: 7/28/08 Weather: 84 degrees, stormy, evening

Comments: Received the vintage Parfum version of Fracas from Perfumequeen. The parfum melds much more closely with the skin than the Edt. It’s missing the slightly coconut note and gains an almost salivic note that is quite sexy. This also has a more subtle evolution – from indolic tuberose to blooming white flowers. Gorgeous.

Date: 11/6/08 Weather: 55 degrees, drizzly, evening

Comments: Sweet tuberose and clean spit. This misses the tropical quality that appears in the EdT version. Still very sexy. Doesn’t seem to last very long on my skin, or I am anosmic to something in it. Put it on at 10pm. Woke up at 2am – nothing left. Bummer, I thought this would have lasted longer.

Bois de Jasmin
Makeup Alley
Now Smell This
Sweet Diva
Aromascope
Perfume Smellin Things
The Lipstick Page Forums Pt. 1
The Lipstick Page Forums Pt. 2
The Lipstick Page Forums – Revisit
The Moment – Chandler Burr
Perfume Smellin Things 2
Grain de Musc
Ayala SmellyBlog
Boomtown Boudoir
Notes from the Ledge

~ by Wendy Wickham on April 9, 2008.

4 Responses to “Robert Piguet – Fracas”

  1. Sakecat, have you tried the vintage extrait of this yet? It has the teeniest bit of salt note that makes it so much more…need a word here… tangibly womanly? I can’t explain it. Drop me a note if you want a little bit šŸ™‚

  2. Mmmm….sounds intriguing. May take you up on the offer.
    I’m just enjoying the EdT so darned much. It’s, dare I say, beachy? And I’m pricing out full bottles now. Soon I will be pulling the trigger.

  3. If you like a salty tuberose, Diptypques “Do Son” is a tuberose with a marine note – it’s supposed to smell like tuberose perfume carried on the sea breeze off the Bay of Tonkin. (I know that’s a bit overly poetic, but that’s the idea as per the manufacturer’s description – ha ha.) I like tuberose but not jasmine, so I’ve never managed to enjoy Fracas so much although I do like tuberose.

    *I really like the way you’ve tagged your reviews with the notes in the perfume. Very clever!

  4. I’ll admit that Diptypque’s fig thing has me a bit scarred – but I will have to try that one.

    If I did this over again (or if I get really super motivated), I’d add the perfumer name and tag that too. It may be awhile before that happens šŸ™‚

    BTW – Checked out your blog. An absolute scream! (And I agree – so many Japanese words seem to be strange pronunciations of English!)

Leave a comment