Thierry Mugler – Angel

Perfume: Angel
House: Thierry Mugler
Perfumer: Olivier Cresp, Yves de Chiris
Source: Beauty Encounter
Size: 1.5 mL spray

OsMoz Notes:
Top note : Bergamot, Mandarin
Middle note : Passion Fruit, Peach, Apricot
Base note : Patchouli, Vanilla, Chocolate, Caramel

Date: 3/14/08 Weather: 60 degrees, about to rain, evening

Comments: Top is a mess of fruit tucked in a jock’s armpit. Not a huge fruit fan. Keep sniffing my wrist because I really can’t believe what I’m smelling. It’s just not right. The patchouli (which, I’m guessing is the armpit) strengthens as it dries down. Between 20-30 minutes is the headache. Then the headache disappears and its the fruit – now removed from the jock’s armpit. At the hour mark – we finally start getting some of the vanilla and less of the funk. Still very fruity. The fruits begin to soften at 2 hours and a black pepper note appears with the vanilla and the fruits (mostly over-ripe peach and passionfruit). 3 hours – THERE’S the promised yummy vanilla/chocolate gourmandy thing I had heard about. Not a weird overripe fruit to be smelled. Sucks I had to wait 3 hours to get there.

Date: 9/8/08 Weather: 73 degrees, sunny

Comments: First spray – death by orange fruit salad. Within 5 minutes, a chocolate note appears. 15 minutes in – cocoa powder, the weird orange fruit salad and dust. 30 minutes – very old, bitter cocoa powder. 1 hour – cocoa, the fruit salad reappears and I think there is a flower trying to escape. This stuff is very unfriendly. Finally becomes a more wearable patchouli / chocolate in 2 hours. Was catching a bit of pineapple on this as well. Showered after 3 hours.

Date: 12/2/08 Weather: 40 degreesm clear, evening

Comments: Tried the absolute lightest spray I could get out of the bottle – sprayed from as far away as my arms would let me. Still an evil fruit salad with a hint of cocoa and patchouli. Stayed an evil fruit salad for the rest of my waking evening (about 6 hours). Big sillage monster. Thankfully no comment from the folks around me. I smell this on others and it smells …. nice. I suspect distance (like, a mile) makes the heart grow fonder on this one.

Date: 3/19/09 Weather: 55 degrees, damp

Comments: Evil tropical fruit salad. Pineapple on the verge of rotting. Dressed with patchouli and cocoa. Permeates everything. I think my problem with this scent is the fruit – not the vanilla / cocoa / patchouli. But it is also the fruit that makes this scent such a benchmark. Forces you to sniff your wrist and say “I can’t believe I am smelling this?!?!” The next morning – patchouli and cocoa with a hint of evil tropical fruit salad. Still tough to wear. Still much better smelling on others from a long distance away.

Makeup Alley
Basenotes
Hilary reviews
Bois de Jasmin
Perfume Posse
Diversey Grand
Smellbound

~ by Wendy Wickham on March 14, 2008.

2 Responses to “Thierry Mugler – Angel”

  1. Love what you do here. I have tried Angel 3 different times and always wondered why I never got the chocolate part. Couldn’t figure out why all these people were calling all this fruity snuff – chocolate. Now I know. I am just not that patient. Glad you are though. Great blog!

  2. This was such a popular scent and is considered a benchmark. I HAD to wade through it as an educational exercise. Much like reading a book you hate that everyone tells you is a “classic.” I’ll do it again. A long time from now….

Leave a Reply

 
