Neil Morris – Midnight Flower

Perfume: Midnight Flower
Perfumer: Neil Morris
Source: Neil Morris Fragrances
Size: 1mL EdT

Perfumer Notes:
Top – Orange and Aldehydes
Heart – Melati Blossom, Gardenia, Fig, Ylang Ylang, Plumeria
Base – Amber, Musk, Patchouli

Date: 8/10/07 Weather: 85 degrees

Wearing: Starts with a strong orange scent with a hint of chemicals (probably the aldehydes). Within 30 seconds becomes Gardenia with a strong Ylang Ylang note and light greet nea note. In 3 minutes, becomes a floral with tea laced through it. The patchouli and amber make an appearance 10 minutes in and strengthens during the rest of the evolution of the scent. Amber appears at 15 minutes with musk. The tea notes seems to stay throughout the evolution of the scent. It disappears in about 3 hours.

Comments: I like the patchouli Mr. Morris uses in this one. Also works well for summer – with the name, I expected it to be heavier.

Date: 8/24/07 Weather: 80 degrees

Comments: Liked it better today. Especially over 3-4 hour old Ava Luxe Kretek. Fades after 3-4 hours.

Date: 9/21/07 Weather: Unknown

Comments: Finding this a solid word scent. Put the sample in my desk as part of my fragrance rotation when I refresh during lunch. Still a good, light patchouli / tea scent.

Date: 1/4/07 Weather: N/A

Comments: I have been wearing this indoors for the past few months. I had inadvertently layered this over Dawn Spencer Hurwitz’s Vintage Patchouly. This amplified the patchouli in Midnight Flower to fantastic effect. I received a very nice correspondence from Mr. Morris as a result of my Basenotes comments.

Hi Sakecat!

Chaya showed me many of Dawn’s perfumes and they are lovely! I’m not surprised Midnight flower blended well with her Patchouli because Midnight Flower has quite a bit of Patchouli of its own! also, Dark Amber and Musk. Enjoy!

Neil

I’m impressed that he has been so involved in the community and is willing to take the time to correspond to an innocent comment.

Date: 1/28/08 Weather: 45 degrees

Comments: Not much orange or aldehydes this wearing (getting towards the end of the 1.5 spray sample). Lots of flowers, patchouli and amber. Probably should have sprayed more sparingly than I did this afternoon. It’s a bit much today. Still liking it, though.

Retired – Swap remaining full vial to Ms. Taolady – 4/18/08

Perfume Critic
Basenotes – Neil Morris Thread
Sniffapalooza (scroll down to view article and interview)

~ by Wendy Wickham on January 6, 2008.

Leave a comment