Dior – Hypnotic Poison

Perfume: Hypnotic Poison
Perfumer / House: Christian Dior
Source: Gift from friend (2004)
Size: Full Bottle EdT

Sephora Notes: Bitter Almond, Caraway Spice, Sambac Jasmine, Cinnamon, Tuberose, Vanilla, Musk, Mosses, Jacarunda Wood

Own Full Bottle. Currently on 2nd bottle since 2000.

Comments: On me the fragrance starts with a powdery light anise topnote. I don’t remember the scent doing this when I first started wearing it. It may be indicative of the age of the bottle or a possible change in body chemistry or maybe that I just paid more attention when refreshing my memory on this scent. Quickly mellows to a spicy vanilla and stays there for the better part of the day. Another fragrance where people stop me and tell me I smell good. Huge silliage on this thing. They will smell you coming.

This is a scent that I have worn mindlessly for the better part of the past 7 years. I wear it and know I smell good. And it seems to work in any season.

Date: 9/15/08 Weather: 82 degrees, sunny, humid

Comments: Haven’t worn this in a long while. Still has the light anise topnote. Fades to Iso E Super (WTF?). Still smells OK, but I never picked up the chemical before and it winds up feeling quite sharp. After 2 hours – finally becomes the gorgeous slightly nutty vanilla scent I remember. I personally don’t smell it often unless I am really paying attention – but others can pick up the sillage throughout the day. It was still going quite strong 15 hours later.

Date: 10/21/08 Weather: 55 degrees, clear, evening

Comments: Light anise topnote. Then the slight nutty vanilla scent that is laced with the anise. Still quite strong. Wore it with the bowling boys. The Captain told me I smelled really nice. All 4 of them told me I looked hot all night. In the same stuff I tend to wear for bowling – glasses, junky big t shirt and jeans. Definitely a man-catcher perfume.

OsMoz
Makeup Alley
Bois de Jasmin
Now Smell This
Boomtown Boudoir
Scent Signals
Grain de Musc

~ by Wendy Wickham on January 5, 2008.

Leave a comment