Dior – Addict

Perfume: Dior Addict
House: Christian Dior
Source: Duty Free – Schipol Airport, Stockholm Sweden
Size: Full Size EdT

OsMoz Notes:
Top note – Mandarin Leaf, Silk Tree Flower
Middle note – Queen of the Night, Rose, Jasmine, Orange Blossom
Base note – Vanilla, Sandalwood, Tonka Bean

Wearing: To me the top is orange rind, sandalwood and patchouli. The heart is patchouli and powder. The base is cinnamon, sandalwood and a bit of amber with the patchouli note.

Comments (from my Basenotes post of 1/5/08): Complex, strong, big silliage (on me at least). A scent I have gotten lots of compliments on over the years (probably because they can smell me from 10 feet away). Please take my comments below with a grain of salt – this is how I interpret this scent using my admittedly sketchy scent memory and my inability to identify notes:

On me, it starts with a blast of alcohol and patchouli (I think my 5 year old bottle – stored in its box all these years – is starting to lose its top notes). The patchouli becomes a bit powdery in the heart. Despite the listed middle notes, Dior Addict doesn’t register as “floral” during any part of the evolution. More like a woody incense (I think it’s the sandalwood making an early appearance). It finally settles into a woody, spicy vanilla.

The “patchouli” tone seems to weave itself throughout the scent – making the evolution of this scent fairly linear with slight modifications as it dries down. A little greenery here, a little powder there, some vanilla at the end.

I always thought this fragrance was very well blended. It’s tough to pick out individual notes. I don’t smell the rose or jasmine or orange blossom. I have no idea what Mandarin Leaf, Silk Tree Flower or Queen of the Night smell like. And I’m finding that Tonka Bean is a malleable note that has registered as everything from cherry candy to wood.

Definitely NOT your fruity floral or close-wearing. This stuff is identifiable on someone from 20 paces. I can put one spray of this stuff on my chest and it lasts until I take a shower and scrub thoroughly.

I suspect I’ve always interpreted this scent as a sophisticated patchouli because the environment I worked in when I first started wearing it. My wardrobe was flannel shirts and combat boots (yes – 10 years after grunge went out of fashion). I did a lot of physical labor during my day. I hung out with computer jocks, academics and librarians. It might have been the way I tried to make Dior Addict fit me at the time.

It might also be why I don’t wear it very much these days – it reminds me of a time, place, and person that doesn’t exist anymore.

Makeup Alley
OsMoz
Boomtown Boudoir
Fragrance Bouquet
Now Smell This
Bois de Jasmin
Perfume Posse
Perfume Smellin Things
Pink Manhattan
The Moment – Chandler Burr
I Smell Therefore I Am

~ by Wendy Wickham on January 5, 2008.

2 Responses to “Dior – Addict”

  1. Hi Sakecat!

    I agree – never found many florals in Addict.

    Loving your reviews Sakecat. Keep up the good work!

  2. Jillsy – so happy to see your comments! And I’m glad I’m not alone on this one.

Leave a comment